Friday, May 14, 2010

Maker vs Now-Again

* May 12, 2010


Chicago-area beatsmith Maker marks his Now-Again Records debut with Maker Vs. Now Again an entry in the same “music-library” series that saw the release of limited edition (and often not-for-sale) albums like Oh No Vs. Now-Again and Koushik Vs. Now-Again. A boom-bap era hip hop exercise in dusty drum breaks and two bar loops, this accessible series of tracks was clearly made for easy synchronization. Outside of Japan, this CD is only available at, and comes packaged in a “mini-LP” thick cardboard “tip-on” sleeve. Only 1000 copies of this CD were manufactured.

Download: Maker - Come Home With Me (MP3)

1. Walk Away Son
2. Shout
3. The Love We Have
4. Everyone Else
5. Realization
6. Happenings
7. Everything Is Beautiful
8. The Fire That Burns
9. Hold'em
10. Organ Prelude Dub
11. Colors
12. Summer Times
13. Free
14. Southside Phantom
15. Forge Your Own Chains
16. Come home With Me
17. Sneak Into My Bedroom
18. Snake Bite
19. Summer Times prt2
20. Ashtray

Music from 'The Buried Life': Maker

When "The Buried Life" boys head down to South Central for a Krump competition, a piece of Aurora, IL, accompanies them: a track by Maker (a.k.a Marco Jacobo). Maker made his name in the late-'90s Chicago underground hip-hop scene by finding hard, natural drum breaks and splicing them together into funky, laid-back tracks, the type that would later serve as the backdrop for rhymes by MC Qwel and Grayskul.

On "The Buried Life," however, you hear Maker matching his wits with samples from Now-Again's catalog of rare dark soul, psych-rock and funk reissues. The resulting tune, appropriately named "Maker vs. Now Again," will have even the most learned crate-digger stumped. Maker is thrilled to be a part of "The Buried Life" soundtrack: "I think the concept is really interesting. It's a thought everyone has at some point in their life -- What do I want to do before I die? -- I know I have."

What's on this Aurora DJ's bucket list? A few interesting possibilities: 1. Learn how to sail and go get lost for a while. 2. See the pyramids in Egypt. 3. Play poker with Michael Jordan. (Number three is probably on the bucket list of many guys from Chi-town.)

Having just finished up a tour with Grayskul to support the collaboration "Graymaker," Maker is focused on a new album with MC Qwel and another solo project. If you can't get enough of him, you can also track down his beats on the second season of "This American Life" and the horror movie, "Trick 'r Treat." (How can you go wrong with a tagline like: "Poison, Drowning, Claw, Or Knife. So Many Ways To Take A Life"?)


Vans OTW Collection Trailer

Vans presents the OTW Collection, in association with Dimitri Coste, The Blackouts, & Eric Elms. This trailer for the OTW launch was shot recently at the Stahl House – Case Study #22 in Los Angeles, CA. and the track is “Hold ‘Em” by Maker. Look for the launch of the OTW website next week and product hitting store shelves shortly after the first of June 2010.